Wednesday, October 28, 2020

NOTICE is hereby given that the Summit County Council will meet electronically, via Zoom, on

Wednesday, October 28, 2020,

 (All times listed are general in nature, and are subject to change by the Council Chair)

Consistent with provisions of the Utah Open and Public Meetings Act, Utah Code Ann. §54-2-207(4), the Summit County Council Chair has issued written determinations supporting Summit County Council's decision to convene electronic meetings of the Council without a physical anchor location. Due to the health and safety risks related to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and considering public health orders limiting in-person gatherings, members of the public should not attend Council meetings in person. However, members of the public are invited and encouraged to view and participate in the Council's electronic meetings as described below.

To view Council meeting, live, visit the “Summit County, Utah” Facebook page at 12:55 p.m.


To participate in Council meeting: Join Zoom webinar:


To listen by phone only: Dial 1-301-715-8592, Webinar ID: 772 302 472

11:25 AM Closed Session - Security (20 min); Property Acquisition (15 min); Litigation (45 min)

12:45 PM - Council Members log into Zoom meeting

12:55 PM Work Session

1)    Pledge of Allegiance

2)    1:00 PM - Presentation by Summit County Junior Livestock Committee; Jim Brooks, Chase Black and Tyler Orgill (15 min)     Staff Report

3)    1:15 PM - Budget discussions regarding capital projects, including major road and facilities; Matt Leavitt, Derrick Radke, Michael Kendell, and Mike Crystal (60 min)     Staff Report 

4)    2:15 PM - Update on the Weber Watershed Conservation Financing Project with United States Forest Service and other partners; Janna Young, Scott Morrison and Jessica Kirby (30 min)     Staff Report

5)    2:45 PM - Update regarding CARES Act and distributions; Janna Young (20 min)     Staff Report

6)    3:05 PM - Summit County Fair Council art awards; Richard Pick and Brennan Flach, artists (20 min)      Christmas Meadow      For the Turtle

7)      3:25 PM - Continued discussion regarding the Dakota Pacific proposal to amend the 2008 Summit Research Park Development Agreement density, volumetrics, massing (DA vs proposal); Jeff Gochnour, Applicant; Kirsten Whetstone, County Planner (60 min)      Staff Report      Dakota Pacific Presentation

4:25 PM Convene as the Board of Equalization

1)    Discussion and possible approval of 2020 stipulations; Stephanie Larsen, Travis Lewis, and LoraLea McKnight (15 min)      Stipulations

Dismiss as the Board of Equalization

4:40 PM Consideration of Approval

1)    Discussion and adoption of Proclamation No. 2020-10, a Proclamation Recognizing Martha “Marti” J. Gee for 34 Years of Public Service to the Citizens of Summit County, Utah; Lisa Hoffman and Scott Morrison (10 min)    Proclamation 2020-10

2)    4:50 PM - Continued discussion and possible action regarding appeal of the Community Development Director’s denial of a building permit to extend the deck of Appellant’s twin home condominium unit in the development known as The Cove at Sun Peak at Parcel No. CSP-8B-A; Michael J. Radford, Appellant; Pat Putt and Jami Brackin (45 min)          Appeal Record    Appeal and Description    Appellant's Reply    Radford Appeal Letter    Radford Appeal Response   

3)    5:35 PM - Council comments (15 min)

4)    5:50 PM - Manager comments (10 min)

6:00 PM Public Input

If you would like to submit comments to Council, please email by 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, October 28th.  If you wish to interact with Council at 6:00 p.m., for public input or the public hearing, please follow the “Public Comment and Public Hearing Instructions”.

Public hearing and possible action regarding a 4-lot subdivision; NS-599-C; Cade Sargent, Applicant, Kirsten Whetstone, AICP, County Planner    Staff Report

Members of the County Council, presenters, and members of public, may attend by electronic means, using Zoom (phone or video).  Such members may fully participate in the proceedings as if physically present.
Individuals with questions, comments, or needing special accommodations pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act regarding this meeting may contact Annette Singleton at (435) 336-3025

Posted:  October 22, 2020; Amended October 27, 2020