News Flash


Posted on: December 27, 2018

New Security Measures Coming to the Summit County Courthouse in Coalville

Main Street Entrance

Summit County, UT (December 27, 2018) — In an effort to address safety vulnerabilities and improve customer service while maintaining critical public access to Summit County government services, Summit County is implementing new security measures at the Summit County Courthouse in Coalville. The County Courthouse houses many of Summit County’s departments and elected offices, including Administration, Assessor, Attorney – Civil Division, Auditor, Clerk, Community Development, Department of Motor Vehicle – Coalville Branch, Economic Development, Engineering, Facilities, Finance, Historical Society, IT, Personnel, Recorder/Surveyor, Senior Services, Special Events/County Fair, and Treasurer. 

Beginning January 2, 2019, two entrances to the Courthouse will be dedicated to public use, while all other doors will be “employee only,” requiring a County-issued identification badge to swipe and enter. The dedicated public entrances are (1) the Main Street entrance in the front of the building, and (2) the Accessible ramp entrance on 50th North. Public parking spaces for individuals conducting business in the Courthouse are available on both Main Street as well as 50th North. Employees and visitors to the building may exit all doors. 

From the Main Street entrance, members of the public are encouraged to stop in the Information Office for assistance or to find the appropriate county department they need. 

Summit County leaders appreciate the patience and flexibility from the public, visitors, and vendors as these changes are implemented. Anyone with questions/concerns may contact the Summit County Administration Department at (435) 336-3200.


About Summit County:
Located in the northeast corner of Utah along the Wasatch Back, Summit County is home to more than 41,000 residents. Created in 1854, Summit County was named for the summits of the mountains, including 39 of the highest mountain peaks in Utah. Six municipalities make up Summit County, including Coalville, Francis, Henefer, Kamas, Oakley and Park City. The county seat is quiet, scenic Coalville, located on the I-80 corridor. For more information visit

Krachel Murdock
Community and Public Affairs
Summit County

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

Cybersecurity is Everyone's Business

Posted on: October 24, 2017